News:

The anti-spam plugins have stopped being effective. Registration is back to requiring approval. After registering, you must ALSO email me with your username, so that I can manually approve your account.

Main Menu

Favorite Inking Pens

Started by JM, July 12, 2008, 09:06:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

What's your favorite?

Zig Millenium
Staedler
Micron
Copic
Other (please post)

JM

Alrighty, I've used every pen type listed above (among several others) but I still have to find one that doesn't bleed when I color with my Prismacolor markers.

I give the piece a good waiting time between inking, erasing pencil lines, and coloring but this still happens. (so sad) :(

I'm not very good with the traditional pen & nib inking sets, so no suggestions for that please. I'd prefer to find a good technical pen set.

Thanks~  :)

Xepher

I always used micron pens, since that's what came with the "engineering supplies package" freshman year, and as I changed majors after only one semester... well, needless to say the entire set is practically unused still. I wasn't a huge fan of them artistically. They work great tracing lines against straight edges and such, but the ones I have seem to have a tiny ball-point, and when freehanding anything, I tend to hold my tools at a pretty flat/sideways angle and suddenly I'm scratching the paper instead of drawing on it. I may not be the best to ask though... I suck at art, and the only tool I actually enjoy using is a pencil. :-)

JM

Yeah, I absolutely despise inking. I have slightly shaky hands and I spook easy, so someone could just say hello and my hand will just jerk all over the paper.  :-\

Micron pens are the easiest to get... weird thing is, I actually like to write with the .05 one. But drawing/inking with one? Absolute hell for me. Hahaha

Xepher