Content > Art

Favorite Inking Pens

(1/4) > >>

JM:
Alrighty, I've used every pen type listed above (among several others) but I still have to find one that doesn't bleed when I color with my Prismacolor markers.

I give the piece a good waiting time between inking, erasing pencil lines, and coloring but this still happens. (so sad) :(

I'm not very good with the traditional pen & nib inking sets, so no suggestions for that please. I'd prefer to find a good technical pen set.

Thanks~  :)

Xepher:
I always used micron pens, since that's what came with the "engineering supplies package" freshman year, and as I changed majors after only one semester... well, needless to say the entire set is practically unused still. I wasn't a huge fan of them artistically. They work great tracing lines against straight edges and such, but the ones I have seem to have a tiny ball-point, and when freehanding anything, I tend to hold my tools at a pretty flat/sideways angle and suddenly I'm scratching the paper instead of drawing on it. I may not be the best to ask though... I suck at art, and the only tool I actually enjoy using is a pencil. :-)

JM:
Yeah, I absolutely despise inking. I have slightly shaky hands and I spook easy, so someone could just say hello and my hand will just jerk all over the paper.  :-\

Micron pens are the easiest to get... weird thing is, I actually like to write with the .05 one. But drawing/inking with one? Absolute hell for me. Hahaha

Xepher:
If I were to be doing art... I'd do everything past the pencil digitially. (If I had a good tablet, I'd even do that digital.) Inking by hand just seems a waste of time to me, as you're trying to clean up and solidify something already there. That is, you're pretty much just tracing.

Here's an example... This is a sketch by Ashley (a xepher.net member who's not around much these days.)