Author Topic: Java not enabled?  (Read 8134 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Shmooi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Shmooi
Java not enabled?
« on: January 13, 2008, 05:54:22 pm »
I'm trying to install paintchat to broaden my art community as my groupboard is way too small right now. Thing is, it seems I have to use a java command and it fails every time. D: Is java not enabled or am I just a n00b? I don't remember seeing it anywhere that we're not allowed to use it or anything...

Xepher

  • Techsmith
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,326
  • Illegitimis non carborundum!
    • View Profile
    • Xepher.net
Re: Java not enabled?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2008, 06:50:14 pm »
So are you trying to run a java program server-side? (Like an installer written in java or something.)  Most "java" is applets that are just .jar files to the server, but get embedded in pages and run by the user's browser. Nothing has to be "enabled" on the server for this sort of thing. Does the program you're trying to install list what specific software is required for the server? And when you say "it fails every time"... fails how? Is there an error message?

Shmooi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Shmooi
Re: Java not enabled?
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2008, 07:00:57 pm »
So are you trying to run a java program server-side? (Like an installer written in java or something.)  Most "java" is applets that are just .jar files to the server, but get embedded in pages and run by the user's browser. Nothing has to be "enabled" on the server for this sort of thing. Does the program you're trying to install list what specific software is required for the server? And when you say "it fails every time"... fails how? Is there an error message?

Well, I'm using a guide that says I need to get a basic command to run it "java -cp ./PaintChat.jar paintchat_server.Server cnf/paintchat.cf". Yeah, I get an error on WinSCP when I try to. First you need to get a symlink to work and that worked, the next step is that command.

I have no experience in this so I'm kind of just guessing my way through.

Xepher

  • Techsmith
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,326
  • Illegitimis non carborundum!
    • View Profile
    • Xepher.net
Re: Java not enabled?
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2008, 09:34:00 am »
Ah, I see... it's actually trying to run a server process that's written in Java. One of the rules here says you need to get it approved by me if you're going to leave a process running after you logout, and a paintchat server would pretty much run full time. It is looking for the full JRE (java runtime environment) to be installed on the server as well, which it currently isn't. Not that I can't install it, but I'd like to know a little bit more first. You said you're just guessing your way through it, which kinda worries me from a security standpoint. If you run a server like that, it's going to stay running full time, with an open port to the internet. That means that if there's any sort of exploit or bug in that software at all, someone might be able to gain full access to your account. I guess the real question is, how well do you know/trust this software? You have a name or site for the actual software so maybe I can take a look, see if it's had security issues in the past and such? I think some users have used something similar in the past, but I don't recall any details about it.

As a side note, the part telling you to run a command... that's gonna need you to be logged into an SSH command line, not WinSCP (which is for file transfers.)

Shmooi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Shmooi
Re: Java not enabled?
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2008, 12:56:30 pm »
Ah, never mind then. That doesn't sound very safe or practical. It could be run from my computer instead of from a server if I really want it up. I just figured it'd be different from a server, ie. not running full time, stable, more secure, and less complicated for users to connect to.

A lot of art sites use it but the software's creator doesn't speak English so the original site and instructions are in Japanese(or is it Chinese?), only some pages can be converted to English. It's hard to find information on it, that's for sure. I guess you can translate it with babel fish, here you go: http://shichan.jp/

I thought since WinSCP had command lines, I'd just be able to do it from there, or Putty.

Xepher

  • Techsmith
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,326
  • Illegitimis non carborundum!
    • View Profile
    • Xepher.net
Re: Java not enabled?
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2008, 09:27:28 pm »
Yes, you'd use putty (that's an SSH terminal.) And as I said, I'm not saying "no" I just figured it'd be wise to see some more info first. I think it's more of a security risk to you than to the server, so the the whole, it's kind of a risk you'd have to choose. The main factor though is that, IIRC, it was a pain for people to set up when they used it before. You have to keep the server running all the time (and it seemed to crash a fair amount) so the user applet that's drawing can connect to it. That means you have to setup some sort of script to check for when it dies and restart it, or you have to manually check all the time. I'm gonna leave it up to you though, if you want to run it, I'll allow it and install java at least, but you'll have to (mostly) figure out the rest on your own, and I'll just ask that you keep an eye on things for any suspicious stuff on your account, in case there is an exploit in it. For all I know, it's perfectly secure though.

Shmooi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Shmooi
Re: Java not enabled?
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2008, 09:44:54 pm »
Alright, I'll give it a try then. I'll pull the plug on it if anything fishy goes down.
I have another concern about it though; if it's running all the time, would that drain the server?

Xepher

  • Techsmith
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,326
  • Illegitimis non carborundum!
    • View Profile
    • Xepher.net
Re: Java not enabled?
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2008, 11:43:36 pm »
I'm installing Java now... it should be done by the time you read this, or soon after. Yes, it would use some server resources running all the time, but it shouldn't be a noticeable amount. This new server is grossly overpowered for the current workload. I'll definitely let you know if it becomes a problem though.