Author Topic: "Server Not Found"  (Read 3792 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fuzzy-slippers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
"Server Not Found"
« on: January 23, 2011, 03:15:40 am »
It seems that the main xepher.net site is working, but every user page I try to access (including my own) throws back a "Problem loading page" "Firefox can't find the server."

I can access my website by FTP just fine, so I'm not sure what's up.

fuzzy-slippers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: "Server Not Found"
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2011, 03:37:51 am »
And now it's better. :) Still can't access other people's sites, but mine has been revived.

Xepher

  • Techsmith
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,326
  • Illegitimis non carborundum!
    • View Profile
    • Xepher.net
Re: "Server Not Found"
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2011, 12:57:12 am »
I did some upgrades the other night, and you may have hit some errors for about 4-8 hours while I worked on things.It should've all been sorted by the next morning though. If you're still having trouble, let me know.

fuzzy-slippers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: "Server Not Found"
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2011, 05:06:15 am »
It still seems to be going down/unavailable a couple times a day, now along with the main site sometimes. It usually comes back within an hour, I'm just wondering what's causing it.

Xepher

  • Techsmith
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,326
  • Illegitimis non carborundum!
    • View Profile
    • Xepher.net
Re: "Server Not Found"
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2011, 07:01:43 am »
I think I may have found the problem. During the upgrade, I switched to a new DNS server, and it no longer supports the "alias" datatype that I was using before. I switched it to CNAMES, as almost all the aliases work just as well as CNAMES. I forgot that this technically violates the DNS RFC, so some (really picky) DNS implementations won't work properly. I've corrected this, and in another couple hours or so, all the TTLs should expire. If you continue to have problems, please let me know, as I'd really like to pin this down for good.